Windows 9x, NT 4.0, 2000, XP.
Internet Explorer 5.0 + .
About 1MB of disk space.
About the program:
Privacy Defender is a state-of-the-art Internet privacy software that allows for private Web browsing. With Privacy Defender you can surf the Web with complete peace-of-mind, knowing that Privacy Defender protects you from unwanted data becoming permanently hidden in your PC, without the possibility to recover it.
Privacy Defender can also erase any personal information stored on your computer. If you click Erase button, it will ask you if you want to do this operation. It erases browser’s cache, cookies and history by default. You can change items you wish to erase by clicking on Options button and
then choosing Eraser tab. Unlike other programs Privacy Defender not only erases cookies, history and other personal information, it also erases hidden index.dat files, even without restart of your operating system! (see also: More info on index.dat files).
The main window:
When you start the program you will see this window:
Functions of the buttons:
- clicking on this button will erase stored personal information.
- brings up Options window where you can change
settings for this program.
- will open a url of a website you type in without adding it to the
dropdown menu in address field of your browser. (see also: disabling
- exits then Privacy Defender.
You can access options by clicking on Options button in the
main window or from the menu Tools > Options. In options
window you can change the settings for the program. There are three
sub-options: eraser, proxy and misc.
This particular option allows you to change settings for Eraser
function of Privacy Defender. You can choose what you want
to erase by clicking on Erase button in the main window.
Here you can select which items you want Privacy Defender
to clean. By default, everything except for the Favorites
and Location bar URLs are selected.
All the web pages you visit on the Internet are downloaded
to your computer and stored as a files in a special directory.
Those files are called "cache". If you select Cache
in What to clean portion of this window and then click
Erase in the main window, all those files will be erased.
It will help you free up disk space as well as protect your
Cookies are small text files uploaded into your computer by
websites to allow you to use certain features, like shopping
sites you visited for advertisement and other purposes. Your
privacy once again can be protected by Popu & Privacy
Defender. Select Cookies in What to clean portion
of this window, and next time you click on Erase button
in the main window, all the cookies will be erased.
All the sites you visit are logged in a special file, so that
later on you can view what pages you visited on the Internet.
It's a nice feature. However, the problem is that anyone who
has an access to your computer, can see websites you visited
very easily. If you select History and then click on
Erase button in the main window, the program will erase
that information as well.
The main difference between Privacy
Defender and other similar programs is that it completely
erases all the personal information from your computer. Even
if you use special software that erases cookies, history and
other files stored in your browser it is very likely to leave
index.dat files untouched. Those index.dat files
are protected by operating system and cannot be deleted and
very often even seen. That is why Privacy Defender has + index.dat
in Eraser options. It not only erases all personal
information which is easily accessible by anyone, but also
that information which is hidden in index.dat files
and protected by your operating system.
The program can also erase such things as Windows Recent files,
temporary folder, Real player's recent files and more. You
can choose what is going to be erased in this window.
If you connect to the Internet through a proxy server, you
will need to set it up here.
In this window you can change general settings for the program.
Exit on close - the program will exit if you click on the
X in the top right corner.
Run this program when Windows starts - the program will start
automatically, when you turn on your computer.
On start minimize to the system tray - the program will minimize
to the system tray when started. You can open the main window
by clicking on the yellow face at the bottom right corner
of your screen.
Reset warnings - if you click this button all the confirmations
will be set to defaults. Clicking Defaults button will
reset all the confirmations as well.
Disable auto suggest
- if this option is checked auto suggest will be disabled.
Thus, when, in the address bar, you type internet address
it will not suggest you any urls. See examples bellow.